Board index Flathead Power-Technical Questions, Answers, and Suggestions Knuckles 61" Cylinders??

61" Cylinders??

Post Thu Jan 29, 2015 5:47 pm

I'm trying to put together a parts list for a Knuckle project I've been putting off for 10 years or more. Flywheels I have are 61" and the cylinders that I have are bored out for 74" over sized .050. pistons. Also one of the cylinders is a 4 fin and the other is a 5 fin. Kind of a mutt. My question is what is the best source for replacement cylinders and pistons? It seems that 74" are easier to find than the 61". I really like the 61", got no need for speed, show or glow and was really hoping to use the parts I already have from the original engine to keep the costs down. But now I'm wondering if it wouldn't be more reasonable to invest in a new set of 74" flywheels and go from there? Thanks in advance. Steve

Post Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:51 pm

eBay is a good spot to find original cylinders.
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_ftrt=90 ... SS:US:1150

Post Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:33 am

Chris Haynes wrote:
eBay is a good spot to find original cylinders.
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_ftrt=90 ... SS:US:1150

Thanks for the reply Chris. I'm a little leery of ebay listings. Can these used cylinders with cracked or repaired bases be useable? Do you know of any quality repops?

Steve

Post Sun Feb 01, 2015 1:39 am

Welded cylinders are a no go in my world. I am using Flathead Power cylinders on the bobber I'm building. V-Twin repops cylinders with the MCC casting marks. I don't remember if they make 61" or not.
74" cylinders will work and give you 68". Custom pistons can be ordered.

Post Sun Feb 01, 2015 2:26 am

FWIW, my first Panhead was a 61" engine, an EL. I actually found it to be very similar to the 74" in general performance, a bit less acceleration and punch but much smoother.
Shoot, a man could have a good weekend in Dallas with all that stuff...

Post Sun Feb 01, 2015 9:45 am

Chris Haynes wrote: